Sakura Cello Quintet

Sakura Cello Quintet

March 14 2023

Presented with the Bay Area Music Consortium

A unique and versatile cello quintet, hailed as “brilliant” and “superb” by Mark Swed in the Los Angeles Times, the SAKURA Cello Quintet is built on the artistry and virtuosity of its members: Stella Cho, Michael Kaufman, Benjamin Lash, Yoshika Masuda, and Peter Myers. Playing by memory, this group has a very expressive sonority and an eclectic mix of repertoire from classical to modern, from Dowland and Boccherini to Brahms to Bernstein and Star Wars.

Artist website

Benjamin Britten: Dawn from Four Sea Interludes
Gabriel Fauré: Cinq mélodies "de Venise", Op. 58
Franz Schubert: Erlkönig
Antonín Dvořák: Silent Woods
Manuel de Falla: Ritual Dance
Peter Myers: Stratigraphy
Claude Debussy: Clair de Lune

Concerts are Tuesday nights and begin at 7.30 p.m. in the second floor Ballroom of Julia Morgan's gorgeous Berkeley City Club, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, 2315 Durant Avenue, Berkeley. For information about the City Club, or for directions, call the Berkeley City Club at (510) 848-7800.

Pre-concert dinners are available at Julia’s, the City Club’s restaurant with a French Master Chef. Reservations are required, available at OpenTable.com or by calling (510) 280-1547.

2022–2023 season

(next concert highlighted)

November 1 2022

December 6 2022

January 31 2023

March 14 2023

May 16 2023